💪🏼 On taking control and getting healthy again 💪🏼

I would not say that I do not live a healthy lifestyle.  On the contrary, I walk everywhere and eat a very balanced diet.  In the past I have struggled a lot with binge eating but I have overcome that for the most part, despite a few minor hiccups from time to time.  Since I was sixteen, I have lost just under two stone as well as redeveloping a healthier relationship with food.

Me at sixteen (just after I started losing weight) and me now!
Me at sixteen (just after I started losing weight) and me now!

Shedding that small amount of weight did wonders for my confidence and lead me to believe that I had perfected my lifestyle.  That my diet and fitness regime was perfect and could not be improved upon.  This unfortunately is not the truth and so I have decided to up the ante a bit.

With my exams looming last year, my stress levels sky-rocketed and the amount of free time I had lessened and lessened.  This meant that I forgave myself for not eating as well as I could have or exercising as often as I should have.  Now that my exams are over, I have run out of excuses!

A bit less of this perhaps...
A bit less of this perhaps…
And a bit more of this!
And a bit more of this!

In addition to the health benefits, I think that shaping up a bit will have a massive impact on my confidence coming up to my debs, my first year in college and just in general life.  (Not that I’m saying one’s self esteem should be tied to their size, of course!)

The last time I made a drastic change to my diet and fitness routine, social media played a huge part in keeping me motivated.  These days it seems a total waste not to avail of the plethora of online resources available. On Instagram, I enjoy browsing through the blogs of “loseitconkatie”,  “deliciouslyella”, “TheHappyPear”, “JennysMunch”, “EricaCakes” and “heyheyhealth”.  All of these have creative and delicious recipes and it’s almost impossible not to be inspired by their lifestyles.  I would highly recommend giving them a follow!

Equally, the app “Pumpup” can be extremely motivational.  It’s very similar to Instagram only it’s entirely dedicated to fitspo. The online community there are very supportive as well and I have never experienced a troll in the time I have been using the app.  What’s more, it’s free, which is always nice!

Unfortunately, I have found that motivation alone is seldom enough; it takes discipline to truly achieve anything when it comes to changing up your lifestyle.  It can take a lot of strength to force yourself to get up a bit earlier in the morning to work out or to refrain from eating a third slice of pizza when your out with your friends.  Discipline is an aspect of this whole thing that I really struggle with.  Going out for a run when the weather is perfect and you have nothing better to be doing is simple. It’s going out when your tired and would rather be watching Netflix that really takes effort.  Which brings me to my next point: enjoying what you do.

A major difference between my approach last time and what I intend to do this time is that I plan on exercising in ways that I find enjoyable. I hate running but I love cycling, pilates and walking. Instead of spending a gruelling forty five minutes running around my neighbourhood hating life, I’ll spend it on my bike, chilling out with a pilates video on YouTube or walking my dog. The best exercise schedule should be comprised of activities that are fun. Whatever it is that you enjoy doing, do that! You’ll never stick to a routine that you hate.

In terms of diet I just plan on eating cleaner and possibly a little bit less. Everyone has their own opinion on what you should eat and when you should be eating it. I’m sure some people will disagree with me on this, but I think that so long as you are eating enough fruit and veg, eating when you are hungry, avoiding bad foods as often as possible and drinking lots of water you should be fine. Everyone’s body is different so just listen to what it is that yours wants!

 Cleary it has always been in my nature to enjoy the occasional snack!
Cleary it has always been in my nature to enjoy the occasional snack!

That’s all I have to say on the subject really.  I hoped that publishing online  my plan to up my game in the healthy living department would act as motivation for me to stick to this resolution of mine.  I’ll keep you all up to date on any progress.  Wish me luck!

Chloe xx

4 thoughts on “💪🏼 On taking control and getting healthy again 💪🏼

Leave a Reply

