Avocado, Lemon and Garlic Pasta | Vegan

I was making one of my favourite lunches today when I decided I might as well make it into a blog post.  This is such an easy dish to make and it really fills you up!  Personally, I prefer this sauce served with regular pasta, however, when I am trying to have a little bit more veg and fewer simple carbs, I will opt for this instead.  I have my debs a week from today so I am eating as cleanly as I can.

What you’ll need

  • Pasta or a courgette
  • One ripe avocado
  • A clove of garlic
  • 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • About a handful of basil leaves
  • Salt and pepper to season

What to do 

If you are making noodles out of courgette, chop the ends off and pop it in a spiraliser.  I can really recommend buying one.  They are super cheap and you can get them online on Amazon and Ebay.  If you do not have one, you can always peel the courgette into strips and then slice the strips down length-ways with a sharp knife.

DSCF4005

DSCF4007

DSCF4009 DSCF4010

Chop your avocado in half and mash it with a fork.

DSCF4012 DSCF4013

With a blender or whatever you can get, mush up the basil and the garlic into a paste.

DSCF4015 DSCF4018

Add the avocado and lemon juice to the mixture and combine.  Season to taste.

DSCF4019 DSCF4020 DSCF4023

Boil up some water and put on the pasta or pan-fry the courgette noodles.

DSCF4026 Toss the noodles in the sauce to spread it out evenly.  Plate up and enjoy!  Sorry the presentation isn’t great for this recipe.  It’s hard to dress up!  Had I the time, I would have put a spring of basil or some lemon zest on top.  But hey, I was hungry…  We can pretend.

DSCF4027 DSCF4029 DSCF4030

Until next time,

Chloe x

.

.

.

.

This marks my six weeks since my first post about improving my lifestyle so I am due to make an update post today.  Honestly, I haven’t got a lot to say.  It has been going very well but I have not enough to talk about to justify an entire blog post!

The only major thing to report is that I have stopped eating meat.  While am taking it very seriously, if I am at dinner at a friend’s house and they have gone to the effort to make me a dish that has meat in it, I will still eat it.  For that reason, I have not gone completely cold turkey on it, so to speak!

I will for sure make a blog post about this sometime in the future.  But for now I have very little to say!  Despite that I have plenty of posts on the way soon so stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “Avocado, Lemon and Garlic Pasta | Vegan

Leave a Reply

