📚☀️Book Reviews from Summer 2015☀️📚

Damned – Chuck Palahniuk

This book was written by Chuck Palahniuk, better known for his novel, Fight Club, which was made into one of the more famous cult films of recent times, starring Ed Norton and Brad Pitt before he got all hairy.  Damned tells the story of 13-year-old Maddy Spencer who wakes up and realises she has died and gone to Hell. The story basically surrounds her getting to know her fellow prisoners as she tries to figure out the exact details surrounding her death.  The book is written with homages paid to The Breakfast Club and Are You There, God?  It’s Me, Margaret.  I found Damned extremely engaging.  It’s bizarre how well Palahniuk can replicate the voice of a mature thirteen year old who is trying to sound older than her years.  That said, this book isn’t for the faint-hearted, with some pretty freaky scenes painted for the reader as well as some oddly sexually explicit descriptions.  Despite that, I really enjoyed this book and will most likely buy the sequel as I believe that it is part of a trilogy.  An excellent book if you are a fan of Palahniuk’s work and don’t mind a little bit of surrealism here and there!

image

Bossypants – Tina  Fey

  Bossypants is Tina Fey’s autobiography and to put it plainly, it is probably the most well-written one I have read.  Reading her book felt like I was talking to a good friend.  I was hooked from the first page and probably finished this book in about a day.  From her style, it is clear to see what a phenomenal writer she is.  I literally have no negative comments about this book and would recommend it to anyone.  Fey somehow managed to be tastefully crude, using  black humour without it seeming over gratuitous or crass.  She is a total feminist icon, putting forward her ideas in a very coherent and humourous manner.  I never laugh out loud when I read a book but this had me sniggering away.  After I had finished it, both of my parents read Bossypants and loved it just as much as I did!  I would definitely encourage anybody and everybody to grab a copy of this.

Not my picture
Picture belongs to http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/titles/tina-fey/bossypants/9780316056878/
Leave a Reply

