Vegan French Toast with Poached Apples

Who says that vegan breakfasts are all fruit salads and porridge?  Not me.  No, sir.  Here is a yummy vegan version of one of my favourite breakfasts.  I have never actually heard of anybody from France claiming french toast as their native dish, but who cares, it still tastes good.

Ingredients

  • Some bread – any kind! I used two slices of wholemeal sliced pan but honestly use whatever you have.
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • Maple syrup to taste.  As much as you like, really.  I usually go for about a tablespoon.
  • 2 heaped tablespoons of flour (any type but self raising)
  • A pinch of salt
  • 2 tsps of cinnamon
  • A large apple chopped into chunks.

Method

Throw the almond milk, nutritional yeast, flour, maple syrup, salt and cinnamon into a bowl and whisk it all together until it turns into a batter.

Pour the batter into a dish and place a slice of bread on top to soak.

While the bread is soaking, put the apples into a pot with a cup of water, cover and leave to boil away.

When all the pieces of bread are soaked in batter,heat up a bit of oil in a pan and fry them. Remove your french toast from the heat once it is browned on both sides.

Remove the apples from the heat, drain off the water and then arrange them around the plated french toast.  You may want to sprinkle on some more cinnamon and maple syrup at this point to make the dish Instagram-worthy.

This delicious mixture is unfortunately a lot stickier than just egg, so you may have to slice your piece of bread in two to ensure that it makes it to your plate in one piece.

Additionally, you will have to excuse the crassness of my measurements.  When I say a cupful, I literally mean that I grabbed a cup from my kitchen and used that.  I think that exact measurements are a bit of a waste of time when it comes to pancakes and french toast but maybe I am just a bit of a slob.

Leave a Reply

