Book Review #6 | Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Hey doods!  Long time no speaky.  My resolution to post on this blog every week has not gone too well, as you can see.  The truth is that I have moved to France for a little while with some friends and have not made time to upload on this!  I did, however, read a little book this week called Jonathan Livingston Seagull – a story and I have some thoughts on it.

My mum has been telling me to read this book for years, promising me that it would change my life.  It didn’t exactly do that but it was a nice little read.  Because it’s not very long, I think it would be good for anyone who doesn’t love to read but feels like they should.  What’s more?  The book is filled with lovely little photos of seagulls every few pages which is very sweet!

The story is an allegory for cultivating your ambitions and was supposedly written to inspire the masses, but unfortunately, it fell short of my expectations.  This may have been because my mother has been building it up to be the greatest thing I would ever read since I was about six…

I thought the book was cute, but as far as self-help goes, I would sooner recommend the Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz.

I know this post was crappy and boring and I hope to be coming up with some better stuff as soon as I have settled into my new living arrangement!

Sell ya later

Chloe

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review #6 | Jonathan Livingston Seagull

  1. Hi, Chloe! My name is Aya, and I am a fellow book blogger. I was wondering if you’d be interested in participating in a small project that I am doing. I wanted to ask a bunch of bloggers (49, to be exact :p), to give me one of their favorite book quotes. I’m going to compile them all in one post and then post it on my blog on the 22nd of this month. It’d be fantastic if you would be a part of this. Just let me know by this Wednesday please, so that I have plenty of time to compile and/or ask someone else. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay so I was agonising over what to pick but I came up with something.
        I wanted to take something from The Picture of Dorian Gray which is my favourite book but I decided to go for a different quote.
        This is one of the first lines of A Prayer for Owen Meany and it’s so profound that I have been able to recite it by heart since the first time I read it! I’m not sure why I find it so intriguing, but it drew me into what became one of my favourite books ever.
        Here it is: I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice. Not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God. I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

