A few of my favourite quotes from a few of my favourite books

Inspired by booklovebabbles‘s list of favourite quotes of  various bloggers, I have decided to compile a list of my own favourite quotes!

“I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.” – Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray

“There is a luxury in self-reproach. When we blame ourselves, we feel that no one else has a right to blame us. It is the confession, not the priest, that gives us absolution.” – Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray

“I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice. Not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God. I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.” – John Irving – A Prayer for Owen Meany

“A person’s faith goes at its own pace. The trouble with church is the service. A service is conducted for a mass audience. Just when I start to like the hymn, everyone plops down to pray. Just when I start to hear the prayer, everyone pops up to sing. And what does the stupid sermon have to do with God? Who knows what God thinks of current events? Who cares?”  – John Irving – A Prayer for Owen Meany

“Human life is but a series of footnotes to a vast obscure unfinished masterpiece”- Vladimir Nabakov – Lolita

“What makes earth feel like hell is our expectation that it should feel like heaven.” – Chuck Palahniuk – Damned

“Actually, watching television and surfing the Internet are really excellent practice for being dead.” ― Chuck Palahniuk – Damned

“I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train.” ― Oscar Wilde – The Importance of Being Earnest

“If I am occasionally a little over-dressed, I make up for it by being always immensely over-educated.” – Oscar Wilde – The Importance of Being Earnest

I’d recommend all the books I mentioned to read.  They are all written quite beautifully and it’s quite hard to choose a favourite of all the quotes offered by them!

Talk soon!

Chloe

2 thoughts on “A few of my favourite quotes from a few of my favourite books

Leave a Reply

